Reasons I Love My Generation

Just a silly little post today.  I’ve been busy packing my house up to sell, a necessary step in the right direction.  Big changes coming my way!  I’m also busy writing up a storm for a website project.  I’m super excited about it, since I’m helping write a historical timeline of my favorite actress of all time.  Details on this will be available soon!

Reasons I Love My Generation

We were the last generation to be born that can genuinely remember well the days before everyone had computers and cell phones.  I was a young teenager before my parents purchased a cell phone, and we were one of the first families in our circle to have one!  There were the infamous, bulky “bag phones,” but they were a pain.  We didn’t get a computer until I was 14 and didn’t get internet until I was 16–and even that was dial-up AOL!

We remember when the most exciting thing to do online was chat on AOL Instant Messenger with your friends you saw everyday.  It was taboo to talk to strangers online, they may be rapers or stranglers!   Funny how times change!

Really we were the last generation whose parents said it was mandatory to learn to drive a standard.  My parents bought me a car a few months before I turned 16, which was so kind of them.  It was as old as I was!  It was a black Honda Prelude and I loved that thing.  It was also a standard and I was terrified of it.  After much perseverance on the part of my dad (mom refused to teach me again after two lessons) it paid off and I learned.  Now that most cars have switched to exclusively automatic transmissions, the need to learn to drive a standard is fading away.

Drinking and smoking were acceptable activities for adults on children’s programs.  I will always remember that cigar-smoking, alcoholic dad in the skits on You Can’t Do That On Television.  If parents today saw that on their children’s programs they’d crap a frisbee.

Nickelodeon was still a freaking awesome channel for kids TV.  My generation was able to watch the ORIGINAL Nicktoons, which were Doug, Rugrats, and Ren and Stimpy.  My parents banned Ren and Stimpy because that show was pure garbage…but so entertaining!  That happened because my dad came in while I was watching a scene where Powdered Toast Man was smacking his butt with a flyswatter.  The only Ren and Stimpy I saw after that was at my best friend’s house.  Another thing about Nickelodeon–Most people of my generation remember Stick Stickley and the jingle to help you remember how to, get this, WRITE HIM A LETTER.  With paper, envelopes, stamps, and everything.  BIZARRE.

Write to…Stick Stickley…P.O. Box 9-6-3…New York City…New York State…1-0-1-0-8!  That’s just pathetic.

We still remember vividly restaurants having smoking sections and smoking being allowed in hospitals and on airplanes.  The fact it was allowed in hospitals still amazes me!  The last hospital I worked for required all smokers be THIRTY FEET off hospital property!  I didn’t even notice the smell of cigarette smoke back then…in fact, I kind of liked it.  It made me think of my granny and grandpa.  They smoked all day every day.  They both quit, but my granny picked it back up after 13 years and a heart attack.  Oh well, at her age she is entitled to whatever she wants I suppose.

Kid’s TV shows referenced movies from the 1930s, 40s ,50s, and 60s on a regular basis…and kids knew what was being referenced!  Young people who love Old Hollywood are few and far between today.

Nick-At-Nite still showed OLD TV shows like I Love Lucy, The Andy Griffith Show, and Leave it to Beaver…gone are the good old days.

Teen and Kids movies were EPIC.  In a class of their own.  They just aren’t the same today.

We still remember a time when families ate dinner together and gathered in the living room to watch TV together.   And the living room was usually the only room that had a TV in it, rather than every room in the house apart from the bathroom!  Today everyone retreats to their own space to do their own thing.

That seems like a thousand years ago…

 

Leave a Reply

