Early September Update

So, I figured it was time for another update.  Yay!

First of all, thanks to all my new followers! Two more until 800!  That’s amazing!  Thank you to everyone who has been reading my blog and suffered through my ramblings over the last several months (years)!  I appreciate each one of you!

Not much to update on, as things have kind of taken a turn for the worse around here.  I may have re-injured my back through circumstances too long and boring to list…so obviously I’m not happy about that.  I see my surgeon on September 12, so wish me luck.  I really REALLY don’t want another surgery.  😦  Over the past week I’ve been unable to really get out and do anything.  So apart from that bit of crappy news, not much has happened.

I will probably be posting another blog about my findings in my genealogy research.  Found out some more about where I’m descended from!  While the people are pretty amazing, my genealogy research has proved one thing: I’m about as American as you can get!  By that I mean my family comes from various places, not just one…and part of them have been in the United States since before the Mayflower!  I mean, to find out one of your ancestors was on the THIRD BOAT of settlers is insane!  Ten years before the Mayflower landed at Plymouth Rock…generally accepted by most Americans as the beginning of American settlement.  You don’t hear as much about the brave folks who came before them!  Of course there were even people before them, who stayed on a temporary basis.  Some people came from England and other parts of Europe and temporarily settled along the east coast for fishing.  They would typically return home, though.  Then, of course, there were the adventurers who arrived to explore the “New World” before the decision was made to colonize.  They came to see what treasures the new land held.  Even bringing some of the natives back to England to meet the queen.  So, they weren’t the first people in the US, but they were pretty darn close!  It’s also interesting to learn the huge differences between some of my ancestors.  Some of them were actually from wealthy families and descended from both Irish and English nobility.  Others, however, were as poor as poor can be and traveled to the United States to achieve the all-too-familiar “American Dream,” and I suppose they did.  They survived and thrived here, which would not have happened had they chose to stay in their homelands.

So, thanks again everyone for your support!  If ever you have a topic you’d like me to write about, feel free to message me or leave it in the comments!  Also, be sure to check me out on twitter!  I’m there more frequently than I am here!  Click the follow button on the right side of this screen!

Leave a Reply

