Happy Nurses Week!

This is the week dedicated to all the men and women who work so hard to ensure every patient has the best medical experience possible.  We are more than just nurses.  We are secretaries, janitors, counselors, teachers, writers, readers,listeners,  and sometimes a shoulder to cry on.  We’ve been peed on, pooped on, puked on, and stepped on.  We take abuse from arrogant doctors and cranky patients.  Any time, any day, morning, noon, or night there are thousands of nurses working hard–sometimes with no meal break–to ensure their patients receive the care they deserve.  I’m proud of my career.  I’m devastated I’m no longer able to work in direct patient care, but I will always be happy I made the decision to get my degree in nursing.  I’m currently unemployed, on forced medical leave to receive treatments (epidural injections) for my back injury.  I can’t really work while I’m having these injections because of the amount of time I would have to be off work to have them done and to recover.  So I’m spending my time reading and writing, and enjoying every minute of that.  When I’m able to go back to work, I’m unsure whether I will choose a nursing “desk job” or go into something completely different.  I’m looking into jobs with newspapers and websites, hoping I can go a different route and put my writing to good use.  I’m taking courses online at Writers Village University, which is loads of fun.  It’s also a great networking source to meet other writers and receive feedback on your work.  I’m taking this opportunity to put everything into perspective and be sure I make the right decisions with where I want to go in my life.

Enough about me, though.  I salute you nurses of the world, for all the hard work and dedication you put in every day.  This world is a better place and healthcare a more pleasant experience because of these amazing men and women.

Leave a Reply

